9. The Sacraments Save

Catholic Position

¶1129 The Church affirms that for believers the sacraments of the New
Covenant are necessary for salvation. “Sacramental grace” is the grace
of the Holy Spirit, given by Christ and proper to each sacrament. The
Spirit heals and transforms those who receive him by conforming them to
the Son of God. The fruit of the sacramental life is that the Spirit of
adoption makes the faithful partakers in the divine nature by uniting
them in a living union with the only Son, the Savior.

¶1113 The whole liturgical life of the Church revolves around the
Eucharistic sacrifice and the sacraments. There are seven sacraments in
the Church: Baptism, Confirmation or Chrismation, Eucharist, Penance,
Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony. This article will
discuss what is common to the Church’s seven sacraments from a
doctrinal point of view. What is common to them in terms of their
celebration will be presented in the second chapter, and what is
distinctive about each will be the topic of the Section Two.

Scripture Says

Romans 3:20
20  Therefore by the deeds of the law there shall no flesh be justified in his sight: for by the law is the knowledge of sin.

Isaiah 64:6
6 ¶  But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags;

John 20:31
31  But these are written, that ye might believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God; and that believing ye might have life through his name.


If the sacraments are essential to salvation, and the sacraments are
only available in the Catholic church, then being part of the Catholic
church is essential to salvation.

Do you believe this?